Center for Injury Research and Prevention

Flaura Koplin Winston, MD, PhD

Flaura Koplin Winston | CIRP
Co-Scientific Director and Founder

Flaura Koplin Winston, MD, PhD is a board-certified pediatrician, a doctorally-trained engineer and a public health researcher who conducts research at the interface of child and adolescent health, injury, engineering and behavioral science. Dr. Winston’s work is published in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings and focuses on the area of traffic injury. Her research to action to impact approach and pragmatic rigor has led to patents and a focus on evidence-based digital health to improve health outcomes.

Dr. Winston is the Distinguished Chair in the Department of Pediatrics at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and serves as the Scientific Director of the Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies (CChIPS), a National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Center, and Director of a National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) site. In 2017, she was elected to the National Academy of Medicine and in 2019, was selected as an Honorary Fellow, Faculty of Paediatrics, Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

Dr. Winston currently serves as an Associate Editor of Injury Prevention, has served on multiple US federal study sections, committees and advisory panels and held executive committee positions with the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Secretariat for the International Society for Child and Adolescent Injury Prevention. For her work, Dr. Winston has received funding from federal, state, corporate and non-profit foundation sources, with major funding from the National Science Foundation, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the State of Pennsylvania and State Farm Insurance Companies.

She has received awards from a range of organizations which reflect her interdisciplinary background: the American Society of Mechanical Engineers; the American Academy of Pediatrics; the Governor’s Highway Safety Association; the American Philosophical Society; the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; the University of Pennsylvania; the US Maternal and Child Health Bureau; Academy Health; the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Hospitals (JCAHO) & National Quality Forum; the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; the American Public Health Association; the American Institute of Medical and Bioengineering; and the Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars. A sample of award-winning, evidence-based websites that highlight her work are: teen driver safety –, child occupant protection –, and promotion of recovery after child injury –